Prize-winner

2016 prize-winner: Jonas OGIEN

Jonas OGIEN Jonas OGIEN has been named the 9th winner of SILAB – Jean PAUFIQUE Corporate Foundation.
The project chosen focuses on « Microscopy by high-resolution, augmented-contrast optical coherence for non-invasive diagnosis of skin cancer ». His research will be carried out at the Charly Fabry Laboratory in Palaiseau, part of the Optical Institute Graduate School, under the supervision of Arnaud Dubois, Professor in charge of the « Biomedical Imaging Systems » team. The objective of the project is to develop an optical imaging system with the capacity to produce similar images to the histological images currently used to diagnose skin cancer, in an non-invasive way (without a biopsy) and in real time. Additional imaging methods (angiography and polarimetry) will also be included in the system to improve the sensitivity and specificity of the diagnosis of early-stage tumors.

 

Previous prize-winner

Laure GIBOT

2015 prize-winner: Laure GIBOT

The project that was selected is dedicated to « Electroporation associated to calcium to treat melanoma ». The research works are carried out in the Institute of Phamacology and Structural Biology in Toulouse, within the Marie-Pierre ROLS team, research director in charge of the Cellular Biophysical team.
Research is organized around the use of calcium (better safety profile, easily accessible and inexpensive) as a substitute for conventional anticancer drugs. The results could be useful to determine if the electroporation associated to calcium can become a treatment of interest in the fight against melanoma, both in industrialized countries and in developing ones.


Laura CAU

2014 prize-winner: Laura CAU

The research project that was retained is dedicated to « Importance of the desimination in the epidermal homeostasis ».
The works are carried out in the UDEAR-CNRS unit, University of Toulouse, in the Dr Michel SIMON team who is known worldwide as specialist of the desimination study in the skin, and conducted by Pr Guy SERRE. Dr Michel SIMON and Pr Hidenari TAKAHARA, University of Ibaraki in Japan, are the co-directors of this project.
Research is organized around the importance of peptidyl-arginine desiminases (PADs) in the epidermal homeostasis. The work will be able to determine if PADs is involved in atopic dermatitis and/or psoriasis. The results obtained could be useful to better understand the implication of PADs in the carcinogenesis.


Carmelo LUCI

2013 prize-winner: Yann CHELI

The research project that was retained is dedicated to "Methylation of histones and melanoma initiating cells (MIC): towards a new therapeutic approach."
The works are carried out at the Mediterranean Centre for Molecular Health (C3M - Centre Méditerranéen de Médecine Moléculaire), INSERM U1065 team 1 in Nice, in the laboratory "Biology and pathology of melanocytic cells: from skin pigmentation to melanomas," conducted by Dr. Robert BALLOTTI.
Research is organized around the study of the role of histones methylation in the mechanisms of gene regulation of stem cells in the tumor cells, validation as potential biomarkers in the progression of the disease as well as the determination of possible new therapeutic targets.


Laetitia DOUGUET

2012 prize-winner: Laëtitia DOUGUET

The research project is entitled "The prognostic value of myeloid cells in skin melanoma and myeloid infiltrate modeling in response to chemotherapy".
The research work is conducted within the Cochin Institute in Paris, INSERM U1016, in the immunohematology department, within the team "Study of the immune response and its regulation in melanoma", under the direction of Ph.D Armelle PRÉVOST-BLONDEL.
The focus of the research is the study of interactions between the immune system and melanoma cells, as well as the assessment of the impact of chemotherapy and new biotherapies on the immune environment.


Carmelo LUCI

2011 prize-winner: Carmelo LUCI

Ph.D in molecular and cellular aspects in biology
The research project of the laboratory is entitled "Cutaneous carcinomas and immunity system: stimulation of the anti-tumor properties of the natural killer cells and dendritic cells"..
The research work is conducted within the Institute of Molecular Pharmacology - UMR 6097, at the University of Nice Sophia-Antipolis, in the team "regulation of immune responses to muco-cutaneous sites" under the joint supervision of PhD Fabienne ANJUERE and PhD Véronique BRAUD.
The research results expect to allow the identification of cellular and molecular mechanism that are involved in the development of skin cancer lesions and offer new approaches of immunotherapy against this type of cancer.


Yasmine TOUIL

2010 prize-winner: Yasmine TOUIL

Ph.D in pharmacology/cancerology
The research project of the laboratory is entitled "role of inflammatory factors in the activation of melanoma tumor stem cells. Therapeutic implications"..
The research work is conducted in the molecular and cellular targeting for cancer treatment group of the INSERM U837 Unit, at the Jean-Pierre Aubert centre in Lille, under the supervision of Renata POLAKOWSKA.
The work is aimed to provide knowledge about melanoma and open the way to new therapeutic approaches.


Caroline ASPORD

2009 prize-winner: Caroline ASPORD

Ph.D in Immunology and associate professor of biochemistry and biological engineering
The TherapDC project consists in understanding the role of pDCs in the development and control of melanoma in order to define new anti-tumor therapeutic strategies.
The research work is realized at the EFS/INSERM U823 R&D laboratory, in the cancer immunobiology and immunotherapy unit, under the direction of Doctor Joël PLUMAS.
The project, conducted in close collaboration with the dermatology department of Grenoble university hospital, should lead to better knowledge of the immunology of melanoma, enabling new therapeutic targets to be defined, and to the transfer of an innovative cell therapy protocol highly-promising.


Juan GARCÍA VALERO

2008 prize-winner: Juan GARCÍA VALERO

The research project is intituled: "Study of the mechanism of insertion membrane proteins of the family Bcl-2 and conception of poropeptides© anti-cancer / anti-angiogenic". It is called POROS (from the Greek ΠΟΡΟΣ and means, in the figurative sense, an effective way to by pass a difficulty).
The research work were conducted under the scientific supervision of the Dr. A. AOUACHERIA, researcher at the CNRS, at the "Institut de Biologie et de Chimie des Protéines" of Lyon within the team «Apoptose et Oncogenèse» headed by Pr. G. GILLET.
This project appear to open up highly promising paths of research in the field of cutaneous carcinogenesis.

Lauréats

Lauréat 2017 : Thomas BERTERO

Thomas BERTERO Thomas BERTERO a été désigné 10e lauréat de la Fondation d’Entreprise SILAB - Jean PAUFIQUE.
Le projet retenu est dédié à « l’influence des propriétés mécaniques de la niche tumorale sur le métabolisme des carcinomes épidermoïdes ». Ses études sont menées au sein de l’Institut de Recherche sur le CANcer et le vieillissement (IRCAN) à Nice, sous la direction du Docteur Cédric GAGGIOLI, responsable de l’équipe « interactions entre les tumeurs et le stroma des cancers invasifs ». Ce projet a pour objectif de comprendre les interactions métaboliques entre les Fibroblastes Associés aux Carcinomes (FAC’s) et les cellules de Carcinomes Epidermoïdes Cutanées (cCECs), en réponse aux signaux physico-chimiques de la matrice extracellulaire. Ces recherches deviennent un enjeu majeur dans la découverte de nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques anti-métastatiques pour le traitement des patients atteints de cancer cutané et ceci afin de limiter les effets indésirables des thérapies anti-cancéreuses conventionnelles.

 

Les précédents lauréats

Jonas OGIEN

Lauréat 2016 : Jonas OGIEN

Le projet retenu est dédié à la « Microscopie par cohérence optique à haute résolution et contraste augmenté pour le diagnostic non-invasif du cancer de la peau ». Ses études seront menées au sein du Laboratoire Charly Fabry à Palaiseau, qui dépend de l’Institut d’Optique Graduate School, sous la direction de Arnaud DUBOIS, professeur responsable de l'équipe « Systèmes d'Imagerie Biomédicale ». L’objectif du projet est de développer un dispositif d’imagerie optique ayant la capacité de produire des images similaires aux images histologiques actuellement utilisées pour le diagnostic du cancer cutané, de manière non-invasive (sans biopsie) et en temps réel. Des modalités d’imagerie complémentaires (angiographie et polarimétrie) seront par ailleurs couplées au dispositif afin d'améliorer la sensibilité et la spécificité du diagnostic des tumeurs à un stade précoce.


Laure GIBOT

Lauréate 2015 : Laure GIBOT

Le projet retenu est dédié à l’« Electroporation associée au calcium pour traiter le mélanome ». Les travaux de recherche sont menés au sein de l’Institut de Pharmacologie et de Biologie Structurale de Toulouse, sous la responsabilité de Marie-Pierre ROLS, directrice de recherche et responsable de l'équipe Biophysique Cellulaire.
Les recherches s'organisent autour de l’utilisation du calcium (meilleur profil de sécurité, facilement accessible et peu cher) comme substitut des molécules anticancéreuses classiques. Les résultats obtenus pourraient être utiles pour déterminer si l’électroporation associée au calcium peut devenir un traitement d’intérêt pour lutter contre les mélanomes, à la fois dans les pays industrialisés et ceux en voie de développement.


Laura CAU

Lauréate 2014 : Laura CAU

Le projet de recherche retenu est dédié à l'« Importance de la désimination dans l’homéostasie épidermique ».
Les travaux sont menés au sein de l’unité UDEAR-CNRS, Université de Toulouse, dans l’équipe du Dr Michel SIMON, équipe mondialement reconnue comme spécialiste de l’étude de la désimination de la peau, sous la direction du Pr Guy SERRE. Cette étude est codirigée par le Pr Hidenari TAKAHARA, Université d’Ibaraki au Japon.
Les recherches s'organisent autour de l’importance des peptidyl-arginine desiminases (PADs) dans l’homéostasie épidermique. Le projet permettra de déterminer si les PADs jouent un rôle dans la dermatite atopique et/ou le psoriasis. Les résultats obtenus pourraient à termes être utiles pour mieux comprendre l’implication des PADs dans la carcinogenèse.


Carmelo LUCI

Lauréat 2013 : Yann CHELI

Le projet de recherche retenu est dédié à la « Méthylation des histones et cellules initiatrices du mélanome (CIM) : vers une nouvelle approche thérapeutique ».
Les travaux sont menés au Centre Méditerranéen de Médecine Moléculaire (C3M), INSERM U1065 équipe 1 à Nice, au sein du laboratoire « Biologie et pathologies des cellules mélanocytaires : de la pigmentation cutanée aux mélanomes », sous la direction du Dr Robert BALLOTTI.
Les recherches s'organisent autour de l'étude du rôle des méthylations des histones dans les mécanismes de régulation des gènes de cellules souches dans les cellules tumorales, la validation comme potentiels biomarqueurs dans l'évolution de la maladie ainsi que la détermination de probables nouvelles cibles thérapeutiques.


Laetitia DOUGUET

Lauréat 2012 : Laëtitia DOUGUET

Le projet de recherche s'intitule « Valeur pronostique des cellules myéloïdes dans le mélanome cutané et modulation de l'infiltrat myéloïde en réponse à la chimiothérapie ».
Les travaux sont menés à l'Institut Cochin à Paris, INSERM U1016, dans le département d'immuno-hématologie, au sein de l'équipe « Etude de la réponse immune et de sa régulation dans le mélanome », sous la direction du Dr. Armelle PRÉVOST-BLONDEL.
Les recherches se focalisent sur l'étude des interactions entre le système immunitaire et les cellules tumorales de mélanome, ainsi que sur l'évaluation de l'impact des chimiothérapies et des nouvelles biothérapies sur l'environnement immunitaire.


Carmelo LUCI

Lauréat 2011 : Carmelo LUCI

Docteur en aspects moléculaires et cellulaires de la biologie
Le projet de recherche s'intitule : « Carcinomes cutanés et système immunitaire : stimulation des propriétés anti-tumorales des cellules natural killer et des cellules dendritiques ».
Les travaux sont menés à l'Institut de Pharmacologie Moléculaire - UMR 6097, à l'Université de Nice Sophia-Antipolis, au sein de l'équipe «Régulation des réponses immunitaires aux sites immuno-cutanés», sous la co-direction du Dr. Fabienne ANJUERE et du Dr. Véronique BRAUD.
Les résultats des recherches devraient permettre d'identifier les mécanismes cellulaires et moléculaires impliqués dans la progression des lésions cancéreuses cutanées et de proposer de nouvelles approches d'immunothérapies contre ce type de cancer.


Yasmine TOUIL

Lauréat 2010 : Yasmine TOUIL

Docteur en pharmacologie/cancérologie
Le projet de recherche s'intitule « Rôle des facteurs inflammatoires dans l'activation des cellules souches tumorales de mélanome. Implications thérapeutiques ».
Les travaux sont menés à l'unité INSERM U837, centre Jean-Pierre AUBERT à Lille, au sein de l'équipe ciblage moléculaire et cellulaire pour le traitement des cancers, sous la direction de Renata POLAKOWSKA.
Ces recherches devraient apporter des connaissances sur le mélanome et ouvrir la voie de nouvelles approches thérapeutiques.


Caroline ASPORD

Lauréat 2009 : Caroline ASPORD

Docteur en Immunologie et Agrégée de Biochimie-Génie biologique
Le projet de recherche, baptisé TherapDC, consiste à comprendre le rôle des cellules dendritiques plasmacytoïdes (pDC) dans le développement et le contrôle du mélanome de façon à élaborer de nouvelles stratégies thérapeutiques anti-tumorales.
Les travaux ont été menés dans le laboratoire R&D de l'EFS/INSERM U823, au sein de l'unité « Immunobiologie et immunothérapie des cancers », sous la direction du Docteur Joël PLUMAS.
Le projet, conduit en collaboration étroite avec le Service de Dermatologie du CHU de Grenoble doit déboucher, d'une part sur une meilleure connaissance immunologique du mélanome, et d'autre part sur le transfert d'un protocole novateur de thérapie cellulaire.


Juan GARCÍA VALERO

Lauréat 2008 : Juan GARCÍA VALERO

Le projet de recherche s'intitule « Etude du mécanisme d'insertion membranaire des protéines de la famille Bcl-2 et conception de poropeptides© anti-cancéreux / anti-angiogéniques ». Il a été baptisé POROS (du grec ΠΟΡΟΣ qui désigne, au sens figuré, un moyen efficace de contourner une difficulté).
Les travaux de recherche ont été menés, sous la tutelle scientifique du Dr. A. AOUACHERIA, chargé de recherche CNRS, à l'Institut de Biologie et de Chimie des Protéines de Lyon au sein de l'équipe « Apoptose et Oncogenèse » dirigée par le Pr. G. GILLET.
Ce projet devrait ouvrir des pistes concrètes en cancérogenèse cutanée.